Symphony n. 2 in E minor Op. 27

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphony No.2 in e minor, Op.27
By José Cura, Sinfonia Varsovia

Complete Version

2002 - Cuibar Phono Video

Running time: 58 min.
Artists: José Cura
Conductor: José Cura
Members of Sinfonia Varsovia

1. Largo. Allegro Molto
2. Allegro Molto
3. Adagio
4. Allegro Vivace

The first movement exposition bowls along compellingly enough to merit its full repeat here; the scherzo... is as bright and articulate as the finale; and the now-clichéd lovesong contours of the slow movement retain a certain freshness.
— BBC Music Magazine
The production convinces with its passionate, highly emotional expression, its romantic exuberance, its diffuse, elevated idiom, and its directness in the communication of feelings. In the conductor one senses the “breath” of a singer in long musical phrases: ample and rich in sound - like a pleasant ecstasy.
— Salzburger Nachrichten
A superb Rachmaninov Second Symphony—one of the better versions available
— Classics Today